Rookie Welder

Rat Rods Rule

Help Support Rat Rods Rule:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

kzoldman

Rookie [;) question. I am not bad with a stick welder but I am a learning wire welder. I have gotten pretty good welding sheet metal after chopping my cab but I really stink at anything thicker. I started making me a welding cart today out of one inch tubing so I could learn before I start on my truck floor. My beads look good but they only stick to one piece of metal. The other piece does not even look hot. The bead really penetrates the one piece. [S I finally gave up and stick welded the whole thing together. I am using a Hobart Handler 140. Wire - .030, Volt - 3.5, Wire Speed - 3 with Pro Tec C25 gas. Any thoughts?

the hobart 140 is a 115 volt welder -- i would say stick weld the truck floor and use the hobart for the body and thinner metals... but i guess it also sounds like youre probably welding from a face of a metal to an edge and those require different temperatures for penetration --

Your not normal.....just kidding....most people have trouble with sheet metal and pick-up quickly on the more forgiving heavy stuff. Sounds like your welder set-up isn't right or your welder isn't big enough. what gauge were you welding?.............ruggs

make sure your ground is good, that youre tacking it well,so the ground is good on both pieces. get a good copper ground clamp, grounding is biggest problem with poor mig performance. if it sputters on starts, usually poor ground, if weld is only on one side,could also be ground issue. make sure metal is cleaned up good. If your welder goes up to 19 volts, which my Handler 125 does, it should be ok for heavier stuff, 115 volt or not.

Ratdog mentioned cleaning the surfaces. It's very important that there is no rust, paint or oily residue on either side of the metal to be welded. Mig don't like dirty metal![;)