easy axle question

Rat Rods Rule

Help Support Rat Rods Rule:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

gold03

He lives in an "Altered State"!
I know you guys are looking at this forum as a contest to see who can identify parts... I need the help actually. I am new to this old stuff and need to know.

So here goes. Two old axles.

What year are they?

What modern brake options can be installed with a minimum of machine work?

Can I do a suicide spring behind axle set up with them?

I would like to use these as a suicide front axle on my 1949 Ford truck, or at least one of them.

Attachments

• IMG_0381.jpg
    IMG_0381.jpg
    179.5 KB · Views: 77
  • IMG_0382.jpg
    IMG_0382.jpg
    84.1 KB · Views: 70
Last edited:
I think you might be right. The owner thinks they are 47 - 48 Fords.

Thanks for the input.

Anyone else have an opinion?

gold03

I sure hope you are right Crank, that is a sweet kit. Nice and simple.

Thanks for the help. I think I will chase the axles down and start looking for a rear with matching bolt pattern.

gold03

They are both '42-'47 Ford passenger car axles. '47 at the newest because those are both lever action hydraulic shocks. Ford went to a tube-syle shock in '48, and there is an extra hole between the spring perch and kingpin bosses for the mount. You can do a spring-behind setup with them, but you will need a new spring, which is advisable anyways. They are a little wide for hot rod use, but would probably work for your truck. The Speedway kit is the cheapest and easiest way to go for a brake upgrade.

I would be interested in the old brake stuff if you are getting rid of it.