Shop ventilation - plasma cutting?

Rat Rods Rule

Help Support Rat Rods Rule:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

oldmule

Colorado, East of the Peoples Republic of Boulder
I'm still learning to use my new plasma cutter, so I have been a bit timid to break it out and play. I know, I'm being a bit paranoid....

I'm concerned about the gases coming off the cutting when I'm in the shop and I don't have a good ventilation system. What are you guys using?

I'm working out of an over sized two car garage. I have a furnace blower that I want to use for helping airflow, but, can't seem to figure out if I should be pushing air in from the top or pulling it out from the top. Where are the gases wanting to collect more?

Up to now, I have always used it out side. Tonight it is about 10* out and I have the furnace cranked up in the shop. I ran it for about 15 minutes total and had to open the garage a couple of times to try and get everything out.....

I know this crap isn't healthy to breath and I know I'm not getting good enough ventilation with just the door up a some.

Thanks

It is nasty stuff alright. I use a water trap, and an over head vent hood. I built the water trap out of an old wheel. The fins come out or turn over. Water level is just about a 1/4 inch below the fins. When I clean it out I am amazed at the coffee ground looking junk in the bottom. Legs adjust to make it level.

Attachments

• DSC00151.JPG
    DSC00151.JPG
    103.3 KB · Views: 59
Bone,
I'm outta my league sometimes around here...

Do you put the material to be cut on top of the water trap?

I did say I was outta my league......Right.