Hammer Welding

Rat Rods Rule

Help Support Rat Rods Rule:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

rustbucket49

Ok, I am a very inexperienced welder. I asked this question on another thread, but figured I'd start a new thread on the subject.... The comment was made by a couple of rodders that they keep cold water ready when welding sheet metal to cool the welds to avoid distortion and warpage.

I have never done this - I usually run a bead about 3/4" to 1" and let it cool. I then clean it up w/ a grinder. That usually turns into a disaster because I either grind off surrounding good metal leaving a gouged area or when I grind out the weld flush, I find pin holes exposed that weren't effectively penetrated. I then end up rewelding the area several more times getting the pin holes filled in.

So on the subject of hammer welding - I have never done it. In my case, I could easily hammer the 3/4 to 1" bead before it cools, right? Doesn't this take care of the shrinkage ?? You can't cool the weld w/ water and hammer weld can you??

I would like some experienced brain waves here - what's the proper way to do this (say I'm welding the roof back after a chop or I'm doing a pancake on my trunk lid) ??

Welds shrink. When you hammer the weld, you stretch it out and also relieve stress. You should not cool it with water. Do a short weld, hammer, and move to another area and do another short weld. Keep skipping around and dont get things too hot.

As far as grinding, I have several grinders and sanders that I switch around on depending what I am doing. You really should use a grinder and wheel that you have good control over so you dont grind the steel you are trying to weld. You should only grind the weld.