My 61 Ranchero, First build.

Rat Rods Rule

Help Support Rat Rods Rule:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
61 Rust bucket..Ranchero! This is my first build and due to money its gonna be a slow one...This is what she looked like when I first got her home and started on her!

Attachments

• IMG_4247.jpg
    IMG_4247.jpg
    124.2 KB · Views: 14
  • IMG_4248.jpg
    IMG_4248.jpg
    88.6 KB · Views: 9
  • IMG_4251.jpg
    IMG_4251.jpg
    132.8 KB · Views: 10
  • IMG_4252.jpg
    IMG_4252.jpg
    170.7 KB · Views: 21
  • IMG_4246.jpg
    IMG_4246.jpg
    167.5 KB · Views: 10
Here is a few of it when we pulled it outta the weeds...be nice please i know she's rough...

Attachments

• weeds6.jpg
    weeds6.jpg
    24.2 KB · Views: 6
  • weeds3.jpg
    weeds3.jpg
    27.8 KB · Views: 9
  • weeds2.jpg
    weeds2.jpg
    35.2 KB · Views: 10
  • weeds.jpg
    weeds.jpg
    35.6 KB · Views: 10
Here is after a little progress...still going 2m to get good pics of all the progress!

Attachments

• weeds4.jpg
    weeds4.jpg
    22.9 KB · Views: 18
  • weeds5.jpg
    weeds5.jpg
    19.2 KB · Views: 12
  • my ranchero1.jpg
    my ranchero1.jpg
    30.5 KB · Views: 33
any ideas on what I can do to her is appreciated...im a total newb...i dont know what direction to go with her? I dont see many ranchero rats for inspiration especially any that have more than a flat black paint job![S

The first thing I did was remove lots of rust and get her primered.
Then I stripped the interior.
Next order of business was to pull the motor.

I got the motor apart but removing the head has been a nightmare it wont come off.

I plan on trimming out alot of floorpan leaving the seat mounting bolt holes and the hump over driveshaft. The frame is rough so I will have to fabricate reinforcements.