Loaning out tools

Rat Rods Rule

Help Support Rat Rods Rule:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

choppinczech

One of the things my Dad taught me as a kid was to return a tool promptly and in better shape than when I borrowed it.

I'm done with loaning out tools. :mad:

I always have to ask for them back, and they're always messed up in some way.

My dad is an automotive mechanic by trade, and he has had enough bad experiences loaning tools that it's his strict policy not to loan tools, and I do the same with my personal tools as well. A lot less stress. I bought the tools so I can use them, not for someone else to abuse.

Tools, trailers, cam corders (back in the day), tie down straps, and chains are off limits to my friends. It is a shame to be like that. But, it always seems when I get a trailer back from a friend, one tire is blown, or has 16 nails in it. When I say something about it, they blame it on bad tread on the tire. When I borrow something I always do something to improve it before I return it. Like welding a spare tire rack on a trailer, or repainting something that was rusty.

Tools, trailers, cam corders (back in the day), tie down straps, and chains are off limits to my friends. It is a shame to be like that. But, it always seems when I get a trailer back from a friend, one tire is blown, or has 16 nails in it. When I say something about it, they blame it on bad tread on the tire. When I borrow something I always do something to improve it before I return it. Like welding a spare tire rack on a trailer, or repainting something that was rusty.

Yeah, it's too bad not everyone has that mindset of sending something back in better condition.