Mustang ll front end question.

Rat Rods Rule

Help Support Rat Rods Rule:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

maddog

Here he comes to save the day!
I have the old mustang ll front suspension (with the strut rod) on my 46 Chevy truck.

Whoever put it on the frame did a good job on the fabrication part but the A-arms, spindles and calipers need help.

To look at the truck, the front tires are too far set in. They need to be pulled out about 1.5 inches each side to look right.

The A-arms are the stamped steel (stock) and I dont like the way the caliper mount is attached to the spindle. I want to replace it all for several reasons.

My question is can I build longer A-arms to push the wheels out a bit?
Do they have them in some catalog that are made in different legnths or is one size all that is offered?

I cant find my speedway catalog (my wife has been picking up behind me).

Thanks

Maddog, I'm no expert but I'll chime in with a little bit of info. Generally, that practice is frowned upon because the widened control arms change the pivot points of the spindle in relationship to the pivot points of the tie rods on the rack. Thus changing the geometry and causing bumpsteer. The widened units that I have used had stock dimension control arms placed farther apart on the chassis and used a widened rack and pinion steering unit.

That being said, I have used narrowed control arms before with no real adverse effect. I have not seen widened control arms before, but they could be made without too much trouble.

I have the old mustang ll front suspension (with the strut rod) on my 46 Chevy truck.

Whoever put it on the frame did a good job on the fabrication part but the A-arms, spindles and calipers need help.

To look at the truck, the front tires are too far set in. They need to be pulled out about 1.5 inches each side to look right.