First timer - 49 Ford Truck

Rat Rods Rule

Help Support Rat Rods Rule:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

kzoldman

First timer - 48 Ford Truck

Thought I would start me a build thread to post to. Here are some pics of yet another 48 Ford F1 truck. This is my first build so I will not be as fast as some of you guys. One pic is the 5.0 and trans I plan to use. One pic is of my side tilt bed and yes that is 100% mahogany. :)There is also another pic of the ignition coil fuel cap. I know one wire goes to the battery but not sure were the other one goes. :DMaybe this was the last guys attempt to get rid of the truck. Anyway, if you see me doing something that just won't work feel free to jump in.
(Started this as a 49, Correction, according to the vin it is a 1948 1/2 ton V8 truck.)

Attachments

• 100_0277 2.jpg
    100_0277 2.jpg
    159.6 KB · Views: 253
  • 100_0279 2.jpg
    100_0279 2.jpg
    193.7 KB · Views: 208
  • 100_0282 2.jpg
    100_0282 2.jpg
    194.8 KB · Views: 210
  • 100_0290 2.jpg
    100_0290 2.jpg
    91 KB · Views: 198
Last edited:
Test fit of a 4dr 63 Fairlane front bench seat. Looks like we may have a winner. Plan to use the Fairlane column and steering wheel also. Going to take out the glass and start the 4" top chop this week. Never done that before, but I saw somewhere on here if in can be cut it can be welded so I'm not scared. [dr For now I just need my coffee and someone to push me around in the garage while I make motor noise.:)

Attachments

• 100_0315.JPG
    100_0315.JPG
    186.2 KB · Views: 69
  • 100_0314.JPG
    100_0314.JPG
    191.5 KB · Views: 45
  • 100_0313.JPG
    100_0313.JPG
    180.5 KB · Views: 63
Cool truck... are you going to use the original diff? I think the gears are 3.92 or something close to that.