Industrial sewing machine - Singer 111w151

Rat Rods Rule

Help Support Rat Rods Rule:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bkvail

I guess this is considered a tool - anybody else have a Singer 111w151? I can find very little about the machine - I think it was military issue as it had a number written on it in military green (that came off when I cleaned the machine unfortunately). Singer has NO info on the machine (I emailed them and they couldn't date it). Anyhow, just hoping to find someone else with the same machine to help me get to know the machine.

It is a FAST machine. I extended the clutch arm and that slowed it down ever so slightly. I am ordering a smaller diameter pulley for the motor - if that doesn't work, I might have to consider a servo motor for it. I want to be able to do precise work - and that means SLOW! I have been sewing for 35 years and that is the fastest sewing machine I have ever tried, kinda intimidating! I have never owned an industrial machine though. It does sew very smooth though, it seems like a great machine.

I did notice that it is missing one of the oiler thingies - I don't know what to call them to see if I can get a new one. It is like a little spring-loaded ball bearing on the deck of the machine that you put oil in - one is missing the ball-bearing. Anybody know what it's called?

I got it because I realized that even though my home machine did a great job quilting the headliner for our Diamond T, it was not up to the task of stitching the headliner to the panelboard - so I haven't been able to install the headliner yet. I tried my vintage Singer 15-40 as well (and it wasn't up to it either even though it does leather). When I found this 111 on Craigslist, it had to come home with me. I think I did good, got it for $200

Sweet! [clYes, it is definitely a tool.