FrankenBug

Rat Rods Rule

Help Support Rat Rods Rule:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Hello Rat Rods
This is my build in progress , It's a 1972 SB beetle . I have chopped the top and was going to stay air-cooled but decided to go from mild to all out freakin wild . My chassis is a 1969 IHC that has been shorten 1 foot in front of rear end with the straight beam from end . I have joined here for help . I have no idea what the best set up is for the lowest but rattiest build . I already have a donor Ranger rear end for a more narrow look but the front is gonna mess me all up since I have never worked with beams before . My engine bay will be open while running a possible big block , with a 48 dodge gull wing hood . I am near Raleigh NC and if any of you are close and could also help me out but letting me see a close up of your set up ty .

Attachments

• DSCF0857 - Copy 1.jpg
    DSCF0857 - Copy 1.jpg
    85.2 KB · Views: 111
  • 00S0S_3BBgPOUalrg_600x450.jpg
    00S0S_3BBgPOUalrg_600x450.jpg
    46.9 KB · Views: 136
  • PART_1391382582275.jpg
    PART_1391382582275.jpg
    46.1 KB · Views: 172
  • DSCF0859 2.jpg
    DSCF0859 2.jpg
    67.4 KB · Views: 119
I worked my Karmann Ghia project completely different from your project. What I did was just started going thru the build threads. I read a lot and looked at a few thousand pictures. A "plan" came up after a few trial and errors. Then, the plan got changed as I went along. About all I can add is to build it the way you want it, build it safe, and have a good time doing it. If you get frustrated with something not working out, take a break from it and come back to the forum and read some more. I've been working on mine for nearly five years. And it ain't done yet. These guys are great and don't be afraid to ask questions. Good luck.

Are you looking to narrow the front end?