First Project continued... 37Ford/46International

Rat Rods Rule

Help Support Rat Rods Rule:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

kelseydum

Well, I'm still not sure if I' going to use the 37 cab, but we are using the 37 Frame and spindles. I got a free 46 International cab that is in good shape and I may use this with the 37 frame with the 37 Ford bed. This is my first project and my mentor had his knee replaced so he can't physically help me right now and I am running in and out of his house asking questions. Anyways here is what I worked on last night. I'm using some trialing arms off of an S-10 for my rear end.

rearmount1.jpg

rearmount3.jpg

rearmount4.jpg

The strip of metal going across is just laid there to help line up the bolts.
rearmount5.jpg

Some more pics...

Here it is with the 37 Ford cab.
firewall_cut.jpg

Here is a crappy pic of the 46 International cab on the 37 frame.
46Cab_channeled1.jpg

I have more pics... just not uploaded yet.

Good progress kelseydum and the IH cab looks good on the 37 chassis. Here's a tip though, if I were you, I would grind ALL of the rust off of the chassis anywhere that you will be welding. That rust will contaminate the weld and cause it to be weak. It will also hinder penetration.

I agree with Gastrick, the cleaner the area to be welded the better your weld will be. We not only grind it clean, but then wipe it with brake cleaner to remove any contaminants, then shine it up with a scotchbrite pad. Both surfaces need to be spotless. I see people posting pictures all the time where they have welded rusty or semi rusty areas, and I shudder each time.