"A" '28 '29 Tudor Sedan

Rat Rods Rule

Help Support Rat Rods Rule:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Hoovail

I started my Model A Sedan build in October '13, and will play catch-up to it's current state.

This is my first time doing any sort of build like this. I'm a "Jeep Guy" and have built a few. I got the Rat Rod bug a few years ago, and I'm excited to get started! Most aspects of the build will develop as the build happens, and what parts I find.

Here are a few of the things I decided on for sure:

Custom Frame - I'm thinking 2X4 3/16"
Air Bags front and rear
6" Chop

Here's what I got!

Being the new guy, any and all recommendations, advice, and criticism are much appreciated!

Cleaned all the pine cones/soil out of it to get a better look...not bad!

Before:

After:

Picked up a cowl.

I wanted to give the body support. Welded in some temporary support. Not sure if its needed or not, but makes me feel a little better before cutting it up!

I added 1x1 in place of the wood, just below the roof and across the top of the door.

I also put some across the top of the windshield.

I started removing the subfloor. I was very systematic about the process, removing one at a time and replacing with new structure as I went. I'm having a blast with this build!

Picked up a complete Ford 8.8 out of a '99 Explorer. It has disc brakes, 31 spline shafts, 3.73's, and a limited slip. Came with the drive shaft as well. I think it will work well for this car.

4x2x3/16" for the frame. 19" Z on the rear, and a 10" sweep up front. I have the frame rails tacked up. I'm planning on using 1 or both frame rails as my air tank/s. I've decided to bag the front as well. Not sure how much of the frame I'll need for air.