Undead Sleds / Rat Rods Rule - Hot Rods, Rat Rods, Sleepers, Beaters & Bikes... since 2007!

Go Back   Undead Sleds / Rat Rods Rule - Hot Rods, Rat Rods, Sleepers, Beaters & Bikes... since 2007! > Transmission, Rear End... Talk & Q&A!

Transmission, Rear End... Talk & Q&A! Tranny, rear end, drivetrain related stuff... shift it... grind it... pop da clutch!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-26-2019, 02:14 PM
Bonehead's brother's Avatar
Bonehead's brother Bonehead's brother is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Naples, Florida
Posts: 30
Default 700R4 overdrive tranny question

Do I need to put in a toggle switch to lock the Torque Converter at highway speeds? Or will it work ok without it? If it needs a switch, is there an easy way to install it? I like easy.
__________________
Yes I have welded in flip-flops, I live in Florida.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-26-2019, 02:17 PM
Tripper's Avatar
Tripper Tripper is offline
Older and more rusted every day!
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Central Tejas
Posts: 12,438
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bonehead's brother View Post
Do I need to put in a toggle switch to lock the Torque Converter at highway speeds? Or will it work ok without it? If it needs a switch, is there an easy way to install it? I like easy.
Mine all have a single hot wire to the tranny... no computer! My tranny guy uses some sort of switch that plugs into the tranny case... I'll ask what it is! You definitely don't want to go with a toggle... that will drive you insane!

BoB
__________________
Rust... Mother Nature's paint job... don't fool with Mother Nature!

RRR on Facebook
RRR on Twitter
Wanted: Ratty '35 Olds coupe!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-26-2019, 02:34 PM
skull's Avatar
skull skull is offline
''SARCASM: just one of his many talents.''
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: wet side, washington state
Posts: 5,759
Default

there is a vacuum switch and a switch off the brake pedal external set up, l used this on the 1948 dodge truck and it works very well.

on the 3Oish it has an internal set up my tranny guy put in so no nothing to hook, just plug and play.

link on google for many styles, talk to local tranny shop and many can do it for a reasonable fee.

MAKE SURE THE TV CABLE IS ADJUSTED PR0PERLY 0R IT CAN BURN UP THE TRANS QUICK

this is the kit l used on the 48;

https://www.summitracing.com/parts/prf-60109/


https://www.google.com/search?<br />...hrome&ie=UTF-8

Later
__________________
my opinion only, valid where prohibited, for official abuse only.

1928 maxwell hybrid build/drag car
http://ratrodsrule.com/forum/showthread.php?t=37455

1948 dodge truck in deceased son's memory.
http://www.ratrodsrule.com/forum/sho...odge+truck+son

1930 2dr mopar.
http://ratrodsrule.com/forum/showthr...ht=30+mopar+dr

Last edited by skull; 10-26-2019 at 02:47 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-26-2019, 02:38 PM
sneakysnake's Avatar
sneakysnake sneakysnake is offline
"There’s nothing new in originality"
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 2,630
Default

Following
__________________
'46 Build Link

'53 Build Link

"Its a catastrophic success"
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-26-2019, 02:42 PM
Bonehead's brother's Avatar
Bonehead's brother Bonehead's brother is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Naples, Florida
Posts: 30
Default TV Cable adjustment

Quote:
Originally Posted by skull View Post

MAKE SURE THE TV CABLE IS ADJUSTED PR0PERLY 0R IT CAN BURN UP THE TRANS QUICK



https://www.google.com/search?q=700r...hrome&ie=UTF-8

Later
This worries me. I have looked at some vids on this. Most just say to get it snug and adjust it as you drive it, warning me not to leave it too loose to begin with. How do most people set it up to start with?
__________________
Yes I have welded in flip-flops, I live in Florida.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-26-2019, 02:57 PM
skull's Avatar
skull skull is offline
''SARCASM: just one of his many talents.''
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: wet side, washington state
Posts: 5,759
Default stuff

https://www.thirdgen.org/forums/tran...djustment.html


http://www.tvmadeez.com/article/index.php

http://www.v8s10.org/forum/viewtopic.php?f=19&t=39331

Later
__________________
my opinion only, valid where prohibited, for official abuse only.

1928 maxwell hybrid build/drag car
http://ratrodsrule.com/forum/showthread.php?t=37455

1948 dodge truck in deceased son's memory.
http://www.ratrodsrule.com/forum/sho...odge+truck+son

1930 2dr mopar.
http://ratrodsrule.com/forum/showthr...ht=30+mopar+dr
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-26-2019, 03:59 PM
Old Iron's Avatar
Old Iron Old Iron is offline
Rusty Rat Rodder
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Willard Mo.
Posts: 11,488
Default

If the tv bracket is pretty sturdy then all ya have to do is push the cable adjuster to let the cable extent then push the pedal to the floor. It'll automatically pull the cable to real close to the adjustment it needs.
I run a key on hot wire to the plug on the tranny and don't worry about disengagement. It'll do that when it downshifts to third or you slow down below the 4th gear shift point.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-26-2019, 09:14 PM
Tripper's Avatar
Tripper Tripper is offline
Older and more rusted every day!
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Central Tejas
Posts: 12,438
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bonehead's brother View Post
This worries me. I have looked at some vids on this. Most just say to get it snug and adjust it as you drive it, warning me not to leave it too loose to begin with. How do most people set it up to start with?
I have always just made mine tight like my throttle cable. You can adjust it a lil for harder or softer shifts... just don't make it loose! Taking off once & letting it shift will tell you if you're good! At least that's how I adjust them & drove my Chevelle like that for 10 years & my Nova for 16... no prob!

BoB
__________________
Rust... Mother Nature's paint job... don't fool with Mother Nature!

RRR on Facebook
RRR on Twitter
Wanted: Ratty '35 Olds coupe!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-30-2019, 12:59 PM
lowbudget50's Avatar
lowbudget50 lowbudget50 is offline
Creators of all things awesome
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 3,035
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tripper View Post
Mine all have a single hot wire to the tranny... no computer! My tranny guy uses some sort of switch that plugs into the tranny case... I'll ask what it is! You definitely don't want to go with a toggle... that will drive you insane!

BoB
I use a toggle switch. Not a pain at all. Just font forget to turn it off hahahaha.

I live my 700r in my chevy. Made it a totally different truck!
__________________
Trailer queens suck! Build it, drive it and be safe!

Minterfab.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Rat Rods Rule Inc.