It's the little things

Rat Rods Rule

Help Support Rat Rods Rule:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Ellwood59

Hotrodders(more so in cold climates) remember the little things count.

Don't forget the gearlube in the pumpkin, the cotter pin in the castle-nut and most important of all the anti-freeze in the radiator.
Yes, as you can guess, I forgot the last one. After months of getting my '59 Apache in shape for fun, everything new from front to back, one week before
the Pittsburgh version of The World of Wheels car show, it happened. The temps fell near zero for weeks, the heat in the garage is not constant and the idiot running the show(yes, me) left the anti-freeze on the shelf.
It was Sunday when I found the puddle in the garage & the "T" shaped crack in the block. Time to find some parts & get back at it.:mad:

Just remember; don't forget the little things.

I hate being a 50 year old rookie, I'm still learning the hard way:D

Attachments

• 1959 Apache Rig.jpg
    1959 Apache Rig.jpg
    76.2 KB · Views: 72
  • WAAAAAAAAA.jpg
    WAAAAAAAAA.jpg
    91 KB · Views: 58
The TWO times I did that I got away with it. The first time only the radiator froze up (cold + high winds). The second time I was getting rid of the truck anyhow - popped the freeze plugs but the block was OK.

Sorry to hear of your loss. :(

S&S, the show is next week,01/22/2010, come on down! Sadly I need to trailer:( her to the show. Our club has a "theme" that involves a couple
trashy campers. Come on down & check it out, should be fun.I'll get pics.

Don, Already found a 4bolt short block, we'll git-er-done right after the show.
I've got a ho-lotta goodies in mine, just needed the good block.

we've got some pics. & vids. of past shows on our site

www.DriftersCC.com