My first build. 42-47 Ford truck.

Rat Rods Rule

Help Support Rat Rods Rule:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

kouki

Like it says, this is my first build of this type. This is going to be a complete budget job so I will keep track of how much everything adds up in this thread. This isn't going to be your usual pick-up though, I have something a little different in mind, I'll show you when I get that far. [ddd

It started with a 42-47 Ford 2-ton truck that I bought off a guy for $350. It used to be a grain truck and during the 40 years it was sitting someone cut the frame off behind the cab, so I bought everything from the cab forward. It will be powered by a SBC with a TH350 behind it. I already have the engine basically complete sitting in the corner. I want it to sit low, be loud, and unique. Here are some pics when I first got it about a month ago.

IMG_4103.jpg

IMG_4104.jpg

IMG_4105.jpg

IMG_4146.jpg

Started taking it apart about 2 weeks ago. I sold the locked up flathead v8 to a guy for $250 so that brings my current cost down to $100. Then I scrapped the old frame for another $80 which makes my costs come down to only $20 into the cab, not too bad.

Overall the cab is pretty nice. It is very solid, with only a small amount of rust through on the right rear cab corner, and the floor of course, but that part doesn't matter much. There is one dent in the roof but it should pop out pretty easy. The door hinges have been modified at some point in time with a brace welded from the hinge to the door on the outside, I'll have to fix that. I'm planning on chopping the top about 5 inches, and changing over to suicide doors as well. Here are some pics from the strip down.

IMG_4144.jpg

IMG_4145.jpg

IMG_4107.jpg