streatchin and shrinkin?????

Rat Rods Rule

Help Support Rat Rods Rule:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

chopper tom

Way too young to be a hippy!
I need some advise on shapin my roof skin on my 78 chop top ???
I am ready to weld my roof skin on and i usually mig weld it and hammer it into shape as i go[while it is still hot].And i already figure it will get some big oil cans in it and i dread fighting with them because the sheet metal is so thin on these newwer tops .there allways harder to work into shape.
So i wander how some of you guys deal with oilcan spots in larg sheetmetal panelssutch as roof skins or door skins?
I have tryed a lot of differant things over the years but still fall back on a tourch tip and a rag in ice water as a last resort [and i'm not too good at that either,just learned by exspermenting with it].
I have been thinking of buying one of those hammers with the swirl in the face to shrink with and mabie a stianless steel grinding disk [from eastwood]and would love some feed back from some of you guys that have used one befor? O r some tips and tricks that you can give that may help ? Thanks in advance!!!

Tom, I've used a stainless steel disc in a sander/polisher to remove oil can from flat floor panels. It worked fine but took about a half hour of effort on each panel. A more powerful, faster grinder would have made more heat and probably would have worked faster.
When we welded the top back on my grandson's GMC (he's Zacho on RRR) we got 4 very deep sinks (dents) in the roof. I tried to shrink them with a torch and wet rag and got nowhere. Just seemed to harden the metal. Finally, I realized I needed to stretch the sheet metal to change the dents into the crown the roof needed.

use very small tacks, and move from one area to another to keep things cool and avoid warping, and cool your tack welds as you go...