Welders, the definitive thread....

Rat Rods Rule

Help Support Rat Rods Rule:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

super56

I know that some people are die hard lincoln welder guys or hobart or whatever. I am an amature welder. I do have some experience welding pipe together. I have used a stick welder to fix my heatshields on a truck I had. Not really done anything structural. I have also played with wirefeed welders. I need to know (from those who know) if I can get away with a cheaper welder. Im not going to buy the crap from Harbor Junk!

I have been looking at a Thermal Arc welder. Please tell me what you think and why.

http://www.thermadyne.com/thermalarc/

Thanks[cl

I cant say either way because all I have are Lincolin products but I will say that you get what you pay for.Bottom line is the more you pay the better you equipment will be.[P[;):cool:

My first welder was a crackerbox Lincoln, in 1975 or so. With stuff I built with that welder, I bought a Miller Big 20 portable and went to work in the oil field. Over the years, I have had and used hundreds of welders.
Now my shop is full of Lincoln welders. I still have a lot of respect for Miller too.

But I have said it before, and I'll say it again.
The hot rod hobbiest, should be looking for a 220, name brand, wire feed, with mix gas.
the only option now is wire size.

My best friend's neighbor has a "no name" mig welder. He swears by it, but I never have seen him weld with it until yesterday. He was consistantly struggling with the wire feed and made it sound like every welder has those problems.

I have a Lincoln welder and I can tell you that the only time I even look at the wire feed is when I'm changing to a new roll or different size. Save yourself some time and headace...buy a name brand 220v welder like Bonehead said.

I recommend Lincoln...I've used many and always come back to Lincoln.

-Troy