Welding Cast Iron

Rat Rods Rule

Help Support Rat Rods Rule:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bob w

Still crazy after all these years!
Last night I cut up the exhaust manifold for the 292 Chevy 6 going in the Reo project. Gotta have duals on the beast. Dual Smitty's on a Chevy six are pretty impressive. I've been reading and watching Youtube videos of different techniques for welding cast iron. In this case mild steel will be welded to the manifold both as end plugs and outlets. I have some experience stick welding with Nickel rod. I didn't preheat or slow cool and got by with it. It was probably dumb luck.
Interestingly, the Lincoln site explains how to stick weld with Nickel rod without preheating.

My choices are using the Nickel rod with my Miller stick welder or Oxy-Acetylene Brazing. Preheat or no preheat.

So if any of you have experience please let me know the best, least problematic route to take.

i have never done what your going to do. i have welded cast iron before, and as many people as there is that has welded it, is about as many ways to do it. i believe you would be better off using stainless steel rether then mild steel. had a buddy that worked for a pump repair shop and they used stainless steel welded to cast iron. i myself have never tried to weld anything to cast. i use castalloy rods when i have to work cast and i try to keep it as cool as i can, another thing i do is sharpen my chipping hammer to a good sharp point and do like a shot ping to try to keep it from cracking. you can use stainless rods on cast iron too.

I've always just used a wire brush on an angle grinder to clean it then start welding with Nichol rod.
I've never had any trouble doing it that way.
If it were an engine block, to repair a crack, I'd drill a small hole at each end of the crack and preheat.
Weld from the holes to the center and only weld an inch at a time to keep from building too much heat.