Need help with my chop

Rat Rods Rule

Help Support Rat Rods Rule:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Kustomz33

Just picked up an early 30s Chevy truck cab and want to do an 8" chop. But I'm a newb to all this and you guys can tell me that. But I need some advice on the proper steps to measure and set up my chop lines on the cab so I'm only cutting once and not filling huge gaps!

Just looking for help we all half to start somwhere.

First thing you better do is figure out if you'll fit COMFORTABLY in a 30's cab with a 8" chop. Take something like cardboard to lower the roof and some boards as the seat - then sit in it. A lot of times on the older trucks, your knees will be in your chin. Many states have a minimum windshield height law - Iowa's is 6".

Notice I said "comfortably" - if you want to drive it more than 15 minutes at a time, don't convince yourself that you fit when you no deep down you really don't.

Thanks Jeff haven't got a chance to get some good pictures yet! I got supports in the cab, and mounted on a table to square corners up!

My 2 cents.......
If it is like the one that Bonehead shows these square style cabs are the simplest to chop as everything more or less drops straight dowm. You may have to make some relief cuts on the pillars to either squeeze them together or spread them apart to match. the piece above or below. Same may aply to the rear cab roof corners.
If it is a later style with slanted pillars then yes a roof spacer or leaning the pilars back will be needed.
You also need to decide if you are cutting thru the rear window and crating a mail slot or cutting around the rear window and dropping the opening down intact or a combination of the both.
If you don't have a frame to bolt the cab to make sure that it is as square as you can get it then put some internal criss cross metal bracing. I think that there is a lot of wood framing in these old Chevy cabs.