Black Rod

Rat Rods Rule

Help Support Rat Rods Rule:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
The black BBQ paint is Really flat, almost looks smokey. Dont know what it would look like rolled.
The john deer paint is said to be really hard to sand off if you ever need to repaint. The guy before me used it on my truck. It would look great it he had done some body work first:eek: but dont know what that would look like rolled either.
I am doing the body work now and plan to use an epoxey primer with no top coat. Not into shinny finishes currently. This is being recomended by a friend who has been painting hotrods forever. I have been doing him favors for several months now and I think I just about have his services paid for.

Maybe try some test patches.

I wouldnt roll it.Its going to leave roller marks and depending on wheat roller pad you use its going to leave the impessions of the pad.(IMO)If you dont have a gun.They are real cheap at your local Harbor Freight.

I agree, however, my friends' 30' Coupe is black Bar-B-Que paint.

Gasser,
Ya'll paint u're BBQ over there on the coast!? ; - >

Here's a link to a Hot Rod article where they did a roller paint hon on an old Falcon... they claim $98. They used white but u'll get the idea! Ck it...
Old Falcon Roller Paint Job!

BoB

Last edited:
there was another guy who did a roller job on a corvair complete with yenko stripes looked pretty good and he even had pictures of it a few years later showing how good the paint holds up