TH350 way over filled, and its leaking. What to do?

Rat Rods Rule

Help Support Rat Rods Rule:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

F1Rat

Ok so I have this 71 350 4 bolt main, and a 71 TH350 like that matters. It is leak badly out of the pan, and I checked it, and it is way over filled. What should I do? I have seen Oil over filled, and I simply do a oil. It is coming out badly around the pan, but I am not sure its the gasket. I have a strong feeling the over fill has lead to it pushing it out of the pan gasket. I am a standard shift T-5 tremec guy, and I am new to autos. What do you think I need to do? How can I dump the fluid with out changing the gasket. The gasket looks new, but it is leaving a huge puddle in my driveway. TIA

First of all, how have you confirmed it is over filled ? 350's tend to leak anyway from various places, like the pan gasket, the dipstick tube, the kickdown cable, and the shift shaft. Do you know for sure it is leaking from the pan gasket because fluid tends to run to places where it might not be actually coming from.

Don

I believe they will read over full when you check them cold. Make sure its at running temp before you check it.

I have to get under it again, because my dad brought this to my attention as well. I did see fluid all over the pan from both sides. I did check it cold, but when I said it was full, it was past the cross hatch marks, past the full when hot, and past the slight bend in the dipstick. It is way full. You are right, I have been driving tremec and T56s for the last 11 years. I totally forgot how to check them lol.

Last edited:
TH350 pan bolts should be torqued at 110 Inch pounds. Sometimes if they are not evenly torqued they will leak;)