Another frame Material question

Rat Rods Rule

Help Support Rat Rods Rule:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Not to HIJACK, just curious, but does anyone know of a listing on the net (or otherwise) of general square tube load, strength, and deflection ratings? Seems like something like that would be very helpful on a site like this. May save someone some serious headaches down the road.

I'm not an engineer but maybe your looking for something similar to this site? This is a private company's website but maybe it will give some general ideas?

http://www.onlinemetals.com/steelguide.cfm

I believe that the ASTM provides the standard for the different types of steel available?

Bonehead would likely know a whole lot more about this than me.

Any thoughts Bonehead?

Anyway, I hope this helps,

Thunder1

Last edited:
AISC Steel Construction

It just so happens I'm sitting around a bunch of engineers with books full of funny letters, numbers & such. Unfortunately, the Ninth Edition (or green version as they call it) only goes down to 3/16" for 4x2 & 3x2 tubing. The Z value is deflection, which is what we are probably most interested in.

4x2x3/16 the Y-Y axis (4") of the tube Z = 1.52 in.3 section modulus
3x2x3/16 the Y-Y axis (3") of the tube Z = 1.18 in.3 section modulus

No, I'm not 100% sure what that means either:confused:, but you asked!

There has to be another book around here with 11 gage/.1196 to compare to. Maybe I'll put a call in to a couple of structural engineers. The only way to answer questions of required strength is to know what length the tube is, other forces acting on (like what a FEA study can show) and other specifics. I don't want to copy the page out of the book for copyright infringement purposes, but I could throw together an excel sheet with some info on it to help clear things up a bit. Look for somthing tomorrow, if you're interested.