Solid axle with R & P ?s

Rat Rods Rule

Help Support Rat Rods Rule:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ratfun

Hi,
This is my first try at this forum stuff. I have started a 1936 Plymouth sedan build. I have looked at all threads about this subject but still have some questions. I have decided to use the R & P attached to my axle. It's a tube with a four inch drop. I know the RP needs to be level and centered. Do the tie
rod arms need to come level out from the body of the RP? I'm using a 2003 Kia Rio power RP hooked to a chev PU tilt steering column that has the slip section in it. I have a 454 I'm using and I want to use it's steering pump. Do R & Ps work with any pump? This looks so simple am I missing anything?
Thanks

First off I'm no expert but, I think you might have problems with the 454 PS pump. I would see if you can retro fit the kia PS pump onto the 454, so it moves the proper amount of fluid.

Of course I could be wrong lol.

i'm no expert either. remember that if you mount the ps rack to the axle rather than the chassis you will need enough travel in the splined steering shaft with out binding for full travel of axle, both compressed and fully extended.also you need enough hose and to have it routed so it doesn't kink, get over extended or rub on anything. that being said there is a company called unisteer that makes a non power cross steer rack that is frame mounted. it may be an option. you never want to cut corners on steering or brakes. back to the question of tie rod angle. it should be mounted as flat as possible so it doesn't bind at full turn. I don't think it will hurt your akerman to have a little angle to your tie rods. I do remember hearing somewhere that to improve akerman on a car with the rack in front of the axle you would try to get as much angle in the tie rods as possible.I hope this helps, I'm sure there is someone here that knows a lot more than I do.