Hi ALL!

Rat Rods Rule

Help Support Rat Rods Rule:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

SwaMan

New to the group and looking forward to gaining and sharing knowledge among the more experienced "Ratters"
I recently inherited my brother's rat after his passing a month ago. I had the car delivered from Tn. to NY and I'm still learning about it.
My major concern right now is that there is a paperwork SNAFU that I'm worried might prevent me from ever driving it here in NY!
The vehicle is (based on info I got from my brother's nots) a 1951 Ford pickup body on a 1990 Ford Ranger frame, with a Buick 4.6L motor.
I received the title in the mail yesterday, and low and behold it's TITLED as a 2016! Not only that, but two different VIN research groups have spit out the registration belongs to a 1957 PORCHE SPEEDSTER!
I know my bro would be heartbroken if I could never enjoy the rat, but NY being NY, I see no way of fixing this mess. Additionally, the VIN has a combination of only 8 letters and numbers, whereas current VINs have 17.
Is there any hope of fixing this so I can register it in NY?
Thanks for any and all feedback!
Swa

"C:\Users\swama\iCloudPhotos\Photos\IMG_2919.JPG"

Welcome to the clubhouse from Flawda! My condolences on the loss of your brother! Every state is different on title work and I can't help you on NY, but maybe somebody here can...

Hello and welcome to RRR.
I'm a flaming optimist, so I suggest you go to your registration office and explain what happened, then ask for their help. You might get lucky and have a clerk that has some empathy. All of the guys on this forum can understand that you're not trying to cheat the government or steal a car, so why can't an official. There has to be a way around this SNAFU. It will take work though.
Good luck.