what metalwrking tools are must haves

Rat Rods Rule

Help Support Rat Rods Rule:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Drowzysleeper

im gonna try to do my own metalwrking and need to kno what tools will i need? i dnt have money for classes or to pay someone to help. so any help would be great. tia

Body hammers and dollies is a must and probably should be your first purchase. Eastwood has alot of neat metalworking equiptment.

yea ive used those before i have them on my list im tryin to find the cheapest website to buy from. whats this eastwood you speak of? lol im a noob sorry

These are all tools I have made with a total investment of about $15 (rear wheel bearing from a 9" for the english wheel).

tools.jpg

The tool that is made of two rods is a tuck tool. It is used to put a "pleat" in the edge of a sheet that is then hammered flat to form a compound curve. Do a search on a metalworking forum for more info. the hammer is a welding tank cap. I use it with a sand bag. The e-wheel is made from plans I found on roddingroundtable.com. I made a small tank with these tools only and it turned out awesome. Hammer it into rough shape on the sandbag while using the tuck tool along the edge. It will look like a bag of walnuts. the wheel will smooth it out after only a few minutes. this also is great for relieving stress as you will hit it with a hammer about 100000000 times. good luck

Last edited:
make some slappers out of old leaf springs. Mallets can be made out of old baseball bats, a beater bag can be made of a old leather purse, either fill it with playground sand or even better small birdshot. I make tool stands out of an old drill press. There are plans on line on how to make yourself a english wheel and planishing hammer. Also goto to metalmeet.com and read read read.

On the fabricating end, some tools I think make the job so much better and easier would be: