4 link help

Rat Rods Rule

Help Support Rat Rods Rule:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

rokhound

hey guys i am getting back to work on the 47 willys cj2a i want to link the rear but here is the thing i am very limited on space. So what to do you think will work here my lower arms can be 24" long or so. But my uppers can only be 12 to 14 inches long is this ok??

I will try to post some pics here in a bit. To show how cramped it is back because of my seats or my be i am over thing this. this is my first build so any help would be great.

Is there a kit out there that you guys would recommend?? Or maybe a kit is not the way to go??

i was thinking about a 4 bar system with a pan hard bar i think this a set up like this would be the best set up. if i run a four bar welded to the out side of the frame they can only be 15" long just so i have room for my seats.
Parallel4.jpg

Several universal kits, try looking for 4x4 link kits from places like Balistic Fab or Rusty's offroad. Short links are ok but but the uppers should be 2/3rds the length of the lowers. More important is the distance of the upper and lower mounting points on the links. At the axles you should have 8" or more and 1/3 less than that measure ment at the frame.

Also I would try using a triangulated 4 link or a wishbone stile upper link instead of a panard bar. Less moving parts. It's not perfection but follow a few standard theories and it will work nice.

Kurt

funny you should mention 4x4 parts as i have a clayton long arm cross member i think i am going to build something like that flib it back words and run a 2 link type set up. longer arms mean nicer ride i hope

Longer arms mean less torque applied be it from axle wrap or hard braking. Spring rate is the best way to a smooth ride. Airbags at 30 lbs ride way better than at 90lbs.

But longer arms sure look cooler!

Kurt