advice needed

Rat Rods Rule

Help Support Rat Rods Rule:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

davecarney2

o I have been drooling over late 20's early 30's rat rods for a couple years now. Had it all planned out. A rat rod truck...fenderless, crazy chop, just a cool rod with a big engine. Well now I need advice on what to think. I bought a 1967 15 foot camper (1700 lbs)......still same idea...tow it with the rat rod after all it is light.

The real problem occured when I bought a golf cart to take camping. Now not sure what to do. Still would like to sport a low slung chop top bare bones rat rod (fenderless if possible) but now it needs at least an 8.5 foot bed.

I have racked my brain. Looked at COE's....cool but really more than I need. Still trying to get close to the original plan.

Suggestions please.......

I saw you posted the same question on the H A M B. That thread is going to get very interesting quickly, I bet. :D:D The LOVE the RR words over there. :eek:

Don

Build it to look like the old ramp trucks, that were used in the late 60s early 70s to transport race cars. Air ride or a tilting bed to load and unload, could be really cool.

If the trailer is a bumper pull then, like was mentioned, build the rod with a flat bed just big enough for the golf cart and bag the suspension.
The next choice is to make two trips to the camp grounds. :( ha ha
The up side to this is you get to drive the rod more.

Jim

Just thought of this, you do know with a 67 trailer a rod pulling it the golf cart has to have one of those hotrod bodies on it too, to fit in. ;)

Personally I like the ramp truck idea!
With a radical chop you could just about have the ramps on the top!
With your ramps at that angle they wouldn't need to be that long!!

What to do?