any pro body paint guys here?

Rat Rods Rule

Help Support Rat Rods Rule:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

TMP

Anyone on here a painter by trade. I have a few questions if you have the time. Thanks TP

Lenny, I'll do my best to get my point across. I am not very good on a computer. I have a 59 buick that I am building a mild custom. Pretty nice ole car out of the desserts of New Mexico. It has the original paint on it that peolpe call patina. If you know what a 59 looks like I'll explain my ordeal. I took the car down to the metal from the beltline trim down. Oh yeah, I have done paint and body work before but on my own stuff but it's been awhile. I took the car down to bare metal, did my light body work and primed with ppg k-36. Now I am in the process of removing all trim and taking the rest of the car down to metal. I have been driving the car on occasion but it stays in the shop. Question? Should I sand the k-36 back down to metal and use and epoxy sealer? I have bought ppg's shop line of sealer and high build primer. My thought was to take the freshly sanded to metal and put the epoxy down and seal the k-36 with the same. I can not do all of the car at one time because I work 70+ hours a week. I plan on doing one panel at a time. Once I get the whole car down to metal and seal, I'll start working the small dent s and put on the high build. Once I get that all blocked out I'll seal again and paint. Am I anywhere near close on how to do this. It's been 20+ years since I jumped in this deep. I can't afford to have it done. [kids in college and bad economy} Thanks in advance. TP

THanks for askign about the work. MY wife has a 60 Olds so -yeah I know what they look like (or resemble)