Are grade 5 bolts good enough for my water pump pulleys?

Rat Rods Rule

Help Support Rat Rods Rule:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

babyface

Are grade 5 bolts good enough for my water pump pulleys or do I need to use grade 8?

Thanks,
BF

I always figured if I had to stop and think if I needed grade 8 bolts, might as well use em. Even if it involves driving 20 minutes outta my way to get em. But then again I tend to over think and over design most of what I do.

Use grade 8

Sorry guys, I always use grade 8 bolts anymore. The original bolts were heavy enough for GM engineers. No idea what grade they were. I have had some really bad experiences lately with CCB's (Cheap Chinese Bolts). I always try to find American grade 8 bolts and use them. I have had several cheap bolts pop the heads off here lately on some machinery we built. The water pump bolts can have a fair amount of pressure on them, especially if you have several belts pulling on them.
Just my $.02 worth!

bolt grades

:cool:Grade 5 bolts are fine for the fan. found out something about bolts that really helps on different applications,Grade 5 bolts will bend and stretch under stress where grade 8 bolts will snap and break.:cool:

Grade 5 is just fine. But use grade 8 when doing anything suspesion and brake related.

There is a school of thought that says grade 8 are too brittle for suspension, as they have very little flex and will snap rather than give a little in a shock loading situation. I have no idea if that is factual. [S

My general opinion is that if I have doubts about a bolts strength, or where the grade of a bolt may mean the difference between failure or survival, I will use a bigger bolt, in situations where that is possible.

For suspension, such as four bar bolts, I will use a bolt that has just enough thread for the nut to tighten down,so the shear loads are on raw steel diameter, not across the thread of the bolt.