body work sucks

Rat Rods Rule

Help Support Rat Rods Rule:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

TooManyIdeas

Im just wondering if anyone else feals like I do. I have ben working at a body shop for about 8 months now so I'm still very new to body work and its tricks and shortcuts. Somedays I feal like a badass others I feal like a dumbass is this about normal? I just get very frustrated when I simply can't figure out what I need to do to move the metal in the correct direction. I do enjoy my job and I love fixing cars. Im just wondering if everyone gets frustrated like I do.

Of the entire build process the one I HATE the most is bodywork. I hate it with a passion. Some people have a feel for it and can look at a panel and know right where it needs more work, but not me.

I worked at a body shop for a while as a customer service guy and would watch our bodymen day after day pounding out stuff, sanding, etc and don't know how they drag their tails out of bed every morning to do it all over again. I really respect those that have this skill.

Don

Yep rates right up there with drywall finishing.
Rather be poked in the eye with a sharp stick as to do either

Jim

I went to tech for 18 months, and worked in a bodyshop for another year. Then I quit! I liked the metalwork, and painting, but hated the bondo and dust.

I continued to do bodywork, just not for a living. Moving metal takes practice. It's definitely frustrating to learn, especially if you have as little patience as I do. :mad: But once you get it, you got it for good.

So, I'd encourage you to stick it out. At least until you know how to fix your own stuff properly. Beating stuff with a hammer is good caveman therapy. I find it works the frustration out, instead of the other way 'round.