Cam?

Rat Rods Rule

Help Support Rat Rods Rule:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

HotRodFord

Ok guys I have a SBC 350 4Bolt Main, im planing to rebuild.
Im going to be pulling some big loads with this truck but most of the time just drive around. Its a 1940,41 Ford Pu.
I woud die to have this sound tho.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2Omj6zxtIB0
Or http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=R-9QYhaA_VA

I had a guy send me this link to some cams
http://www.compperformancegroupstor...creen=CTGY&Store_Code=CC&Category_Code=THMSBC

My ? is what is the diff in them? I know its a (&*^ up ? But hey Im new to all of this and I wanna learn every thing I can.

Might want to check out some RV cams if your going to haul stuff.

ISore

This article does a good job of describing how a cam is designed and how it relates to performance. Or you can google "camshaft design" and find a bunch more articles.

camshaft_design

For a rougher idle, hauling and yet preserving some sort of fuel mileage try to stay at or below .450 lift. The higher your lift is the more erratic the exhaust will sound, but it will also be sucking in more fuel.

Higher durations increase the top-end at the expense of the low end. below 235 degrees of duration - better torque. 235-250 - mid-ranges over 260 degrees - top end power.

A lumpy idle and good low end torque don't normally go together - not sure about how those Thumpers are for torque (more for the show crowd I'm guessing). Just run a good cam for torque, put some glass packs on with 3" thin-wall dumps ahead of the rear tires and be done with it. It'll sound meaner than 95% of what's on the street anyway.

BTW, whats a guy named HotRodFord doing with a SBC? :confused: J/K:)

Last edited:
Higher durations increase the top-end at the expense of the low end. below 235 degrees of duration - better torque. 235-250 - mid-ranges over 260 degrees - top end power.