Does anyone feel the way I do?

Rat Rods Rule

Help Support Rat Rods Rule:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

blacksheep

You know, before I bought my 48 F1, all I ever did was want to get up on 2 wheels. I have been riding motorcycles for the last 35 years. I had a bike shop , and have built bikes, serviced bikes, and just in general wanted to be around nothing but bikes. Before , a 4 wheeled vehicle was just another form of transportation to me. This forum has inspired me to really get into the Rat Rods . But, I have an 06 Road King that I used to put over 15k miles a year on . Now, it sits a little more than before. Is this because of my new love for Rat Rods? Well, it is a combination of a few things. First thing is this, I have noticed the biking scene change in the last 13 years. There are definitely more bikes on the road than before. But, I have noticed something else. With the new gadgets that are coming out for us to communicate with each other comes a greater danger for us bikers out there. I don't know how many times I have seen someone driving down the road while texting. And frankly , this scares the crap outta me. It was bad enough to see someone dialing their phone while driving, but now we have to dodge those who now text while driving. And , that's all of us , not just bikers. My bike has 6 lights on the front of it so cagers can see me coming. But, if they are not even looking what good does it do? I live in Savannah , GA. It seems that spomeone is being killed on a bike almost weekly here. I know alot of that has to do with the increase of bikes on the road today, but it is still scary as he!!. And, I also know that alot of it is due to inexperienced riders feeling the need to own a Harley or a bike, and not realizing just how bad they can hurt themselves or others.