Hi from Cumbria (UK)

Rat Rods Rule

Help Support Rat Rods Rule:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Been lurking here a while soaking up the mass of knowldege, ideas and skills. Time to come out from the shadows!

I'm a Chartered Mechanical Engineer (read desk-job), which sadly doesn't involve any hands-on work, so I like to get my hands dirty whenever work and family life allow.

Biggest previous project was a Landrover rebuild, and I rebuilt a handfull of motocross bikes back in my teens. I was also a farmer in a previous life, so I can bodge repair just about anything with a big hammer and full seam welds - a weld can never be too strong on farm equipment!

No projects on the go at the moment except rebuilding a small utility trailer (4x3). Got an old 8x6 boat trailer that i'm going to do next, with some frame mods and building a bed and sides with recycled aluminium checker plate off a truck.

Would love to build a hotrod but current finances and famiy commitements mean I'm lingering at the design stage whilst i raise funds. Hoping to start the actual build during christmas holidays, maybe sooner. I need that time though to get up to speed with hotrod design, as I don't have much exposure to hotrod resources except for the internet. Hell, the first hotrod i ever saw in the UK was in my 20's!

That said, i am comfortable with the enginering and construction aspects. What i really want to pick up on is styling ideas, period-style features and build tips. And proportioning, getting the appropriate aspect ratios, rake and stance etc.

It would be easier if i was copying a particular style, but due to availability of parts I'm going down a different route: A scratch built rod based on mercedes running gear. Whats life without a challenge!

Current thinking: