My Dream

Rat Rods Rule

Help Support Rat Rods Rule:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

LibTimothy

OK. I have a dream.

I want a car like one of these pictured below.

Now buying one is right out of the question. (Do any still exist??) That means I have to build one.

That is where my problem starts. I have no idea how to build something like this. Heck, I’ve never built anything before. However, here I have an advantage. I know I don’t know anything. I need a plan. I need ideas. And if my spouse finds out about this I’ll need a place to crash.

The project.

The good news is I am not interested in making an exact model (hence, I am in the rat rod forum, not the model forum). I just want something that looks like one of these cars. I have no specs (so I can’t be wrong!) I just want the look. It doesn’t need to be a 6X6 (but that would be really cool!) a 2X6 or 4X6 would work.

What I do not have:

1) Any parts – zip – nada – nothing. This is a blank sheet at the moment.
2) Any skills. I will learn what I need as I go.
3) Any experience. But, I plan to ask a lot of questions and be willing to back up and re-do things if its not working.
4) Tools. Oh I have a tool box full of wrenches, a big hammer, and a few air tools w/ compressor. But, I suspect there are lots of tools I will need.

What I do have:

1) A dream.
2) Lots of ideas.
3) A fearless spirit. I know I can do this.
4) A huge 30 X 40 workshop to do the project in.
5) Enough smarts to know that there are some things that I should subcontract out rather than attempt to do myself. And to go with this, enough money to pay to farm out these tasks.
6) A willingness to listen to better ideas and to talk to experts.
7) My son is a great mechanic and is willing to help me. Unfortunately, he just deployed to Iraq, so it will be a year until he is back home.

Ideas