need Zing help 50 ford on 63 frame

Rat Rods Rule

Help Support Rat Rods Rule:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

icebox

i am putting a 50 ford cab on a 63 ford frame . i need to z the frame but i need help . i have never done one before . i can weld but i don't know where to get started. an where and what kind of cuts to do to make it look and Be right. here are some pics . please take a look and tell me what
IMG_5778.jpg
you think i should do.

it will only let me post one pic

Some questions.

What look are you going for?

Is it going with or without fenders?

Are you using the axles and suspension that is already on the frame?

I have this one low.

Added a early Camaro clip and pro street the back. The center section is the stock 48 frame. And it for sale.

Attachments

• my48pickup.jpg
    my48pickup.jpg
    184.3 KB · Views: 54
i am going to use the straight axle/springs in the front that are original to the frame . i am going fenderless. i want it low to the ground
thanks icebox

That not going to be an easy frame to Z. Being the the front and rear spring hangers are so close to the cab. Unless you lengthen the wheel base.

If not, the vertical part of the frame is going to be straight up and down. I like to have at lest a 60 degree angle.

To start you will need to level and secure the frame so it does not move during the operation. Next you will have to decide were you are going to cut the frame and cut it. which in your case would look like right in front and behind the cab.

After cutting the frame you will need to place the center section at the height you want it. square it and secure it. This is the point were you can start cutting metal and weld everything back together. Keep making measurement to make sure nothing is moving during the welding. The last thing you want is a twist in the frame.