painting question

Rat Rods Rule

Help Support Rat Rods Rule:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

motomech

Mr. Willys
ok so i painted my wheels today and when i was shooting my color it kinda looked like it was shooting spiderwebs on to the wheel and some of them were floating away...it looked like hair or webs on my wheels the paint was a little bit bumpy its hard to describe ive never painted with a gun before
the primer wasnt doing this and neither was the clear coat only the color was doing this:confused:

It has been my experience that spider webbing is caused by one of several things. Too low air pressure(you should have a gauge and regulator at the gun) Paint not thinned enough, or a dirty nozzle. A Thorough cleaning must be done after each use.

I am not a professional but have painted quite a few cars and motorcycles. There may be a pro here that can give you better insight.

hmm i bet it was the low air pressure i think i was running it at like 35 pounds
i diddnt want to go to high

it turned out good at the end(and the clearcoat fumes made my kinda happy)

Attachments

• pic050607_4 (Small).jpg
    pic050607_4 (Small).jpg
    43 KB · Views: 15
  • new wheel (Small).jpg
    new wheel (Small).jpg
    27.2 KB · Views: 20
Last edited:
cycledog just stated the most common causes of your symptoms motomech. It could be any, or a combination of those things. Another cause could be incompatible products being mixed together. The shiny black looks good.

FYI - Inhaling some of todays painting products can be very hazardous.

i used this paint shop stuff it says there is no mixing it is ready to spray right from the can i used the primer color and clear

Attachments

• paintshop1.jpg
    paintshop1.jpg
    12.5 KB · Views: 15
motomech I've seen that paint shop system advertised and wondered if it was as easy as the ads make it sound. Glad to hear someone in the real world has had success with it.