piston ring question

Rat Rods Rule

Help Support Rat Rods Rule:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Yankee Transplant

He started out with nothing, he still has most of
I rebuilt a 305 a few months ago and Ive had problems with it since day one .. it was a reman engine from one of the parts house , (so I was told ) but my question is,.,. has any one used a ring that was square , with no bevel on it for the top ring ..no dot either ,, and the second groove has a dot and a bevel on the bottom of the ring ... .I put it in like the paper said ,, and its been smoking like a tar pit none stop ..... I have only built around 10 or 12 engines in the past 40 years so Im no expert ... I dont remember the manufacture of my parts .. I bought them from a man who builds race cars for a living (he orders a lot from summit)

I took the engine back apart last night and tonight ... Im going back to him and ask him to order me the old style rings . (top ring bevel inside top ) I have also had problems with the ideling with this truck ,, just like it has not enough power to run ,,, when you rev it up it runs strong and smooth .. ideling ruff and goes dead ...
sorry about such a big story .. its just aggravating when the problem is not obvious to me ...

I've run into that type ring before. Didn't have any problems with them sealing. Something you may look at though, is the oil rings. If the rings themselves or the expander behind the rings, are not positioned correctly within each other, it may not get the correct tension on the rings, to keep the oil where it belongs. And double check the end gap on the top and mid rings. Too much gap indicates the wrong size for the bore. And that could cause weak pressure pushing against the cylinder walls. Good luck with it.
And as for the running poorly a low rpms, double check your timing.