Really?!?!

Rat Rods Rule

Help Support Rat Rods Rule:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
I have a California Air Resource Board story from my 6 year stint on the Left Coast. I had scored a 68 Volvo 142 with a B20 2 liter engine. It had dual SU side draft carbs on it. I went through the carbs while tuning it up and the cleanest I could get it to idle was about 5.0 percent C/O and 800 ppm hydrocarbons which was within the guidelines of the "Smog Check" authorities for that year of car but considerably more dirty than cars of the day. This was in 1990 and most new cars then would idle at 1.5 percent CO and around 200-300 ppm on the hydrocarbons. So, being a professional mechanic I installed an aftermarket intake and Weber carburetor. In doing so, I got that car to Idle smooth @ 1.5 CO and 400 ppm HC. Next, being all proud of myself I took the car up to Fort Bragg to get a smog check. The guy that tested it was impressed at how clean it idled but failed the car on the visual inspection because it didn't have "original equipment" carburetors. So, I put the SU's back on it and adjusted the idle mixture right up to the legal limit, 8.0 percent CO and 1300 ppm HC. Went back to Fort Bragg and passed with flying colors. I have another story about the California Coastal Commission but it's just more of the same like in the article Low B shared.

It never ceases to amaze me the stupidity that comes from the Cali government. This is a train wreck happening before our eyes. Cali will implode from inside.

I posted a poem quite a while ago about THEM coming for your cars. Doesn't seem so far fetched now, does it?

Last edited:
That’s one of the reasons after 70 yrs in So.Cal I moved out [c Good part I sold that house for enough to pay for a much nicer home in NM [cl:D