Why is Pre '65 important?

Rat Rods Rule

Help Support Rat Rods Rule:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

The_Emu

I'm new to the Rat Rod and traditional rod scene. I have been noticed some shows and events are advertised for being for cars built before 1965. Why is this year significant?

Does it include cars that the body did not change after 65? What if minor changes were made?

After all the Beetle was made until 2003. If someone built a volks rod starting with a 2001 Mexican beetle would they be excluded? What if the customization removed some or most of the features that were changed in later versions of the car? Such as the removing the huge back window on later VWs and replacing it with a earlier style window.

Shouldn't the style and personality of a car matter more than a date plate? Can a rusty Prius, slamed, chopped with wide whites on artilery wheels and a stripped interior ever be cool?

Like 42 chevy said it is to keep the muscle cars out. So shows had a 1963 cut out because the first Mustangs were 1964 1/2.

There a local street rod club that for there show the cut off date is 1948

Years ago there was a show that in the street rod class the engine could not be newer then 1963.

The rule are up to the club/person running the show.

Yeah, 1964 is when muscle cars took over the dragstrips and the streets. Old style hot rods became obsolete old cars.

The same thing happened again when the 5.0 mustangs got out of control in the late 80's. A decent muscle car couldn't compete with a vortec supercharged mustang. Lots of people parked their old camaros and chevelles.