OK, so I can't take my own advice

Rat Rods Rule

Help Support Rat Rods Rule:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Willowbilly3

A *real* tin magnet
To only have one project going at a time, well....
Waiting on the ends to make the PS hose for the 56 caddy and itching to get started on my 40 one ton panel. So I dragged one of the doors in today. It came to me with no back doors and I scored a rear section of another panel. You can see the passenger door needed some work.

I cut out the dented sections so I could straighten them and do some work on the hinge mounting. Also the edge of the door was buckled on that lower dent and I got that straightened up. Top piece is going back in. Rain all day tomorrow so hopefully I'll have this baby ready to hang.

I'll have to build about 3-4 inches of the inside bottom since it's basically gone from rust. I love this tin work, even though I'm a rank amateur hack.

nice work Willow. can I suggest you cut out the inside of the panel as quite often the external finish is easier to re-construct if no welding is required..

regards crate

ha! I hadn't considered that quite so well- to many Friday beers -- apologies !

quite fond of those old panels,, we don't get so many here ,, aside from a few mid 50s F100's

looking forward to more progress

crate

Heck, that's just a little sheet metal project. You're not violating your principles at all.:D

Well, I was pretty on fire with the 56 caddy, and still peg away on it. It doesn't owe me anything and I like looking at it. It' still needs a water pump (200$+) before I can drive it so it's waiting on the next windfall.