Finally!!!! My first ground up build. 27/28 Dodge

Rat Rods Rule

Help Support Rat Rods Rule:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

cranny

Ok after years of this thing taking up space in my drive way and dreaming of having a Hotrod, I finally got off my butt and started plugging away at my sedan.

While i've tinkered with cars for awhile now this is my very first ground up build. I'm no master mechanic or fabricator. Just a average guy with a busy family so I won't be working on the car every day and updates will be sparse.

My goal is to have a safe rod that looks cool. Plans are to keep it a 4 door, chop 4 inches, channel over frame.

s10 4x4 rear end with triangulated 4 link, 305 chevy small block with t350 auto tranny.

I have a 40 ford complete spring in front axle with disc brakes that i'll mount on a suicide spring perch. This will be a fenderless car.

Here's what i started with.

Attachments

• DODGE SIDE.jpg
    DODGE SIDE.jpg
    14 KB · Views: 106
  • Dodge%20side.jpg
    Dodge%20side.jpg
    17.4 KB · Views: 125
My first thought was to slap this thing on a chevy luv chassie and make a quick running car, but after seeing it i hated the look.

The porpotions were all wrong and the independent front suspention look horrible, so i scrapped that idea.

However the chevy luv chassie is made of 2x4 tubing and built pretty strong so i decided to clip the front end off and use the back half. I will stack 2x3 tubing on top of the cut off portion and that will be my front frame rails.

Here is how it sits now with the front clip cut off.

Attachments

• DODGE BUILD FRAME SIDE.jpg
    DODGE BUILD FRAME SIDE.jpg
    39.4 KB · Views: 119
  • DODGE BUILD FRAME.jpg
    DODGE BUILD FRAME.jpg
    41.8 KB · Views: 127