tick through exhaust

Rat Rods Rule

Help Support Rat Rods Rule:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Onequick26

Puts Nitro on his Cheerios
I have a stock 390 in my truck and at idle there is a tick from the right header. I'm thinking a burnt valve but not sure. Dose anyone have any other ideas ? I have never been in the engine just put it in and drove the truck. Off idle I can't hear if it still dose it.

stock 390 has it ever been rebuilt if not it very well may just be a lifter in need of adjustment. put a screw driver, piece of tubing, or steth-a-scope up to the valve cover on that same side n listen. i'm no pro so you know

Do a compression check, it will tell you if you have a bad valve,or just a ticking lifter.

390 Fe engines

All the Fe engines use a shaft style rocker system, no adjustments on those motors, the rockers are all on the same long shaft and the bolts hold the shaft down not the rockers, if it is a ticking lifter, add a quart of marval mystery oil next time you change the oil, and it will flush out the lifters and make them quiet again, eveybody calls them boat anchors, but I have had quite a few of the old motors that ran very well and they were almost bullet proof, big old heavy cars and trucks and would still run like heck.

I'd try the fix from LAR...

All the Fe engines use a shaft style rocker system, no adjustments on those motors, the rockers are all on the same long shaft and the bolts hold the shaft down not the rockers, if it is a ticking lifter, add a quart of marval mystery oil next time you change the oil, and it will flush out the lifters and make them quiet again, eveybody calls them boat anchors, but I have had quite a few of the old motors that ran very well and they were almost bullet proof, big old heavy cars and trucks and would still run like heck.