Hood scoop cause a lean air/fuel condition?

Rat Rods Rule

Help Support Rat Rods Rule:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jmlcolorado

Hey guys.
I was playing around in the garage tonight and something came to mind.
Will a large air cleaner scoop cause a lean condition at high speeds?

I've got a big giant cleaner cover that'll act like a scoop and I don't want the truck to lean out at highway speeds.
Just thinking out loud.

Here's the suspect:
photo-11.jpg

Keep it under 120mph and you should be fine. ;) I'm gonna guess it is a non-issue, especially since you have a filter in there.

I'll take 3 no answers as the correct answer :D
Thanks guys.

I'm going to run a wide band a/f gauge anyways so that should tell me how the truck reacts to different setups.

I'm new to the carb tuning world (have only tuned, balanced and sync'ed a 4 carb setup on a 4 cylinder bike before) so 4 barrels are new to me.

A scoop can't increase the density or reduce the temperature of the atmosphere. It only provides the best air available.

Since you have an a/f meter, try it with the scoop on backwards. I know it defies logic, but try it and compare to scoop forward. You might be surprised at the results.

The good Dr. might be on to something as a rear facing scoop would still allow a large supply of fresh air it would also have less turbulence. When I was drag racing some cars found that they ran better with a large air filter for the same reason. Mildly modified small block Chevrolets perform better with a little exhaust back pressure, as opposed to open headers, due to better scavenging of exhaust gases. The hand crafted scoop JML built looks amazing and should not cause any problems.

A scoop can't increase the density or reduce the temperature of the atmosphere. It only provides the best air available.