29 Ford roadster/chevy powered

Rat Rods Rule

Help Support Rat Rods Rule:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mdlahotrod

Since this is my first build, it was suggested that I put the progress on here so here goes. Hopefully it will help other first timers to jump in there. Of course I couldn't even have gotten this far without the advice from experienced builders here on RRR.
I've got a 29 ford roadster that I attained as a rat rod on a trade for an 88 softtail custom. (Believe me, he got the better end of the deal).
I want to make a safe Hot rod out of it so I've been workin to take it apart and start over. It came (when I traded for it) with a Pontiac 400 and turbo 400 but have since traded for a chevy 350 with a turbo 350 due to the easy availability of performance parts. My starting point was the motor and now that it's about done, been workin on the windshield install. I found out that the windshield was for a closed car so it was too wide for the car by 2&1/2 inches so had to shorten that. It was kinda scary as it was my first time at welding anything but it seemed to come out better then I expected.

Attachments

• DSC03282.jpg
    DSC03282.jpg
    137.9 KB · Views: 52
  • DSC03284.jpg
    DSC03284.jpg
    126 KB · Views: 38
  • DSC03288.jpg
    DSC03288.jpg
    103.8 KB · Views: 40
  • DSC03302.jpg
    DSC03302.jpg
    115.8 KB · Views: 48
  • DSC03306.jpg
    DSC03306.jpg
    119.4 KB · Views: 39
  • DSC03259.jpg
    DSC03259.jpg
    92.5 KB · Views: 48
29 ford roadster/chevy powered

I found out the previous owner had cut off the windshield supports so I had to get repair parts and get em all welded into place, plus cut 2&1/2" out of the windshield frame.

Attachments

• DSC03326.jpg
    DSC03326.jpg
    85.4 KB · Views: 36
  • DSC03334.jpg
    DSC03334.jpg
    85.3 KB · Views: 47
  • DSC03339.jpg
    DSC03339.jpg
    90.4 KB · Views: 39
  • DSC03333.jpg
    DSC03333.jpg